Skip to content
Jul 23 / Julie Alter-Kay

School of Social Work Dean and Faculty Member appointed to National Councils

Mildred C. Joyner, President of the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), has appointed Dean Cheryl Waites to the Commission on Educational Policy for a 3-year term. This commission’s charge includes identifying pedagogical concerns in social work education and working with other CSWE bodies to address these issues, reviewing current CSWE programs that are related to educational policy and planning, suggesting activities that would strengthen and expand CSWE’s leadership role in matters of education, and periodically writing statements of social work curriculum policy to formulate CSWE’s accreditation standards.

Antonio González-Prendes has also been appointed by CSWE to the Council on Practice Methods and Specialization for a 3-year term. This council recommends strategies and cultivates relationships with professional agencies and individuals to increase practitioner participation in CSWE. Additionally, the council identifies and addresses issues relevant to the preparation of students for social work practice.

CSWE is the sole accrediting agency for social work education in this country, which represents more than 2,500 individual members, as well as graduate and undergraduate programs of professional social work education.

Thank you to Dean Waites and Associate Professor González-Prendes for accepting these most prestigious appointments and for their continued contributions to social work education.

Leave a comment